Creamy Saffron and Nutmeg Bananas

The other day I was in need of something sweet.  Usually I will just grab a piece of fruit (I usually limit myself to 2 or less pieces a day), but that night I needed something fancier.  That’s right, it needed to be fancy.  My daughter may be rubbing off on me.  She is the queen of glitter, tutus, and dancing.

Making desserts without adding any sugar can be tricky.  Trickier yet is making them taste like dessert.  I took a few of my favorite things, threw them together, and this is what happened.  Fancy schmancy bananas.  No sugar added, nothing fake.

Creamy Saffron and Nutmeg Bananas

(Serves 2)

2 bananas

1 cup coconut milk

pinch of Saffron threads

Nutmeg

Image

1.  Heat your coconut milk and saffron threads in a small saucepan over low to medium heat.  Do not allow to boil.

Image

Isn’t it gorgeous? I just love saffron.

2.  Slice your bananas into the pan, stir just long enough that the banana heats up a bit.  You do not want it to get mushy.

Image

3.  Spoon mixture into a bowl and sprinkle with nutmeg.  I used whole nutmeg and a teeny tiny grater.

Image

There you go!  Dessert that you do not have to feel guilty about.  My daughter loved it too.  Seriously couldn’t get enough.  She may have described it as the “best thing ever”.  And that means a lot coming from the queen of fancy fairy land.

Leave a Reply

