Snack Attack — Dried Apple and Macadamia Nut Butter Bites (gluten-free, dairy free, no sugar added)

Five or six of these will chase away the hungries and get you to your next meal.

Five or six of these will chase away the hungries and get you to your next meal.

I had an afternoon meeting today, so I grabbed a quick lunch that wasn’t filling or satisfying, changed my clothes, and blasted outta here. Two hours later, I was crazy hungry. It was all I could do to not pull into every fast food drive-thru to grab some fries or an apple pie, which surprised me because I haven’t eaten that food in months.

Instead of succumbing to the MADness (Magnetic Allure of Destruction), I headed across town to Nourish, a local (Grand Rapids, MI) organic food market and one of my favorite little shops. I picked up a few necessities, and filled a small bag with some of their bulk organic dried apple slices.

I scarfed down a few slices in the car, then sat on my hands (mentally, for safety’s sake) for the rest of the 10-minute drive home. It didn’t take me long after walking in the door to make up a handful of these Dried Apple and Macadamia Nut Butter Bites to get me through the afternoon. Mmm hmm. Total goodness.

These are fast, simple, and you and your kids will love them. They not only are satisfying, they’re handy when you need a little something sweet, there are no apple peels or seeds or stems, and you’ll get a bit of protein and healthy fat, too.

Organic dried apples and some homemade macadamia-chocolate nut butter. A scrump-dilly-umptious combo for a quick power snack.

Organic dried apples and some homemade macadamia-chocolate nut butter. A scrump-dilly-umptious combo for a quick power snack.

Ingredients:

A few organic dried apple slices

Fresh Macadamia Nut Butter or any non-peanut nut butter you like. I used my homemade stuff laced with chocolate and cinnamon. You can find the recipe here.

These little wrinkly buggers like to stick together -- you'll have to peel them apart to get them ready.

These wrinkly little buggers like to stick together — you’ll have to peel them apart to get them ready.

Process:

Slather the nut butter on the dried apple slices. Or dip them. That’s it! Really. (Unless you want to top the little gems with some sliced almonds or shaved coconut.)

Crazy good. Unbelievably quick to make. Dried apple slices slathered with macadamia nut butter and topped with shaved coconut.

Crazy good. Unbelievably quick to make. Dried apple slices slathered with macadamia nut butter and topped with shaved coconut.

One note of caution: if you eat more than a few of these, it could trigger sugar cravings or give you sugar high followed by a sugar crash.

Leave a Reply

