Roasted Root Vegetables

My love for root vegetables is no secret.  When I ditched grains I knew I wouldn’t be going low carb.  It might work for some people, but I personally need some kind of starch or complex carbohydrate to keep me going.  I get most of my carbohydrates from root vegetables, mostly sweet potatoes.  I typically eat one sweet potato every day and it works for me.  In addition to being a rich carbohydrates source, root vegetables are also a rich source of antioxidants, vitamins, and minerals.  Go for organic if possible as they absorb so much from the soil.

100_2775

One of my favorite ways to prepare root vegetables is roasting.  It really brings out the sweetness and nothing beats the texture.  A little crunch on the outside and nice and soft on the inside.  I am going to share with you my basic roasted root vegetable recipe.  You could add some spices if you like, the recipe is very adaptable.

100_2786

Basic Roasted Root Vegetables

Ingredients:

1 large sweet potato

2-3 parsnips or large carrots

1 large rutabaga

several shallots

3T coconut oil

1t salt

1t freshly ground black pepper

Equipment:

Sharp knife

Large bowl

Baking sheets

Spatula

Directions:

1.  Pre-heat oven to 450 degrees

2.  Peel and dice your vegetables.  You want the pieces a uniform size if possible, 1/2 inch squares are good.

100_2779

2.  Throw all the diced roots into a large bowl.  Drizzle 2T of coconut oil over the veggies and toss to coat.  I like to use my hands to make sure everything gets coated evenly.

100_2780

3. Use the last 1T of coconut oil to grease the baking sheets.  Spread the veggies on the baking sheets in a single layer.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

100_2781

100_2782

Ready to go into the oven, aren’t they gorgeous!

4.  Roast at 425 degrees for 20 minutes, then give them a quick toss with a spatula so they don’t burn.  Put back into the oven for another 10 to 20 minutes.

100_2783Flipping after 20 minutes

5.  Take out of the oven and enjoy!   This makes a pretty big batch so I like to pack up the leftovers for quick eating.

100_2787

Feel free to play around with the type of root vegetables you use.  I have had success with carrots, fennel, and beets.

3 thoughts on “Roasted Root Vegetables

  1. Great recipe, AnnaLee! I’ve found that the leftovers are a great way to get in my breakfast veggies the next morning. They only need to be warmed in a skillet with some eggs scrambled in, or warmed and then folded into an omelet. Good stuff!

  2. Choice Fare - AnnaLee says:

    Cumin and smoked paprika. Garam masala. Cinnamon and nutmeg. Chipotle seasoning. Sweet, savory, you name it and it usually works on this.

Leave a Reply

