Hot dog, it’s a Whole30 hot dog!

Applegate Organic Hot Dogs are great for Whole30 lunches, dinners, and yes, even Meal One!

Applegate Organic Hot Dogs are great for Whole30 lunches, dinners, and yes, even Meal One!

When I was in Winston-Salem, NC in December, I went to Whole Foods and found some marvelous hot dogs that The Hub and I could have during our Whole30 detox. I was elated! But alas, when I got home to Michigan, I couldn’t remember the name of the brand. Ain’t that the way it goes?

So, I thought all was lost until last week when I was shopping at one of my local health food stores, Harvest Health Foods. They had these Applegate Organic Uncured Hot Dogs. I don’t know if they were the same ones I found at Whole Foods, but they sure looked similar. I read the label and they contained nothing I couldn’t have on the Whole3o, so I grabbed ’em.

As soon as I got home, two of them went into the frying pan for my lunch! Yum. Yum. Yes, indeedy. Exactly what the doctor ordered.

They are meaty, they fry up firm and nicely browned. They are some of the best dogs I’ve ever eaten, and I’ve had quite a few. Don’t let the price scare you, though. They’re a bit on the rich side, but I’ve found that one dog with a side salad is a good lunch serving and is Oh. So. Satisfying.

Dogs? WHAT did she say about dogs?

Dogs? WHAT did she say about dogs?

If you visit the Applegate website, you can find out if a store in your area carries them. I haven’t had time to check out the other foods Applegate makes, but it looks like there are a lot of choices on the website.

Dog time! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

