Chicken soup with cilantro, chipotle, and lime

I have been sick for the last three weeks.  I don’t do sick very well.  Being sick means resting, and resting doesn’t really agree with my lifestyle.   I let a lot of things slack the last three weeks, including preparing healthy food, but I am finally back to feeling energetic and feeling like cooking again.  Yippee!

Chicken soup sounded so good the last three weeks, but I had no homemade stock left and the all day process of making stock seemed like too much (even though it is not).  I got around to making chicken stock yesterday using leftovers from my roast chicken. I also had chopped cooked chicken meat left from that same roast chicken, so I was able to easily make chicken soup after work today and boy was it worth it!  I need to never ever run out of chicken stock again.

The  idea to put lime and cilantro into my chicken soup came from my dad.  He is a fantastic cook and I always look forward to trying his culinary creations.  I decided to use cabbage in place of celery, the first reason being that I didn’t have any celery.  The second being that I detest celery with a passion.  I can tolerate it if it is overcooked in soup, but I really just avoid it if possible.  All of these flavors work so well together, turning a very simple chicken soup into something truly special.  This is the ultimate in a nourishing and comforting food.  Better yet, this soup can be whipped up in less than an hour.

100_2861

Ingredients

1.  1T coconut oil

2.  6 medium carrots- peeled and chopped

3.  1 medium yellow onion-diced

4.  2 cloves garlic-minced

5.  1/2 head small green cabbage-shredded

6.   6 cups chicken stock (preferably homemade)

7.  2 cups chopped cooked chicken

8.  1t salt (or to taste)

9.  1/2t fresh cracked black pepper

10.  1/4 t smoked paprika

11.  1/4t chipotle spice

12.  1/2 cup Cilantro- chopped

13.  1 lime

100_2855

Directions

1.  Heat the coconut oil in a large pot.   Add the carrot and onion and saute until onion is translucent.

100_2856

2.  Add garlic and cabbage, allowing the cabbage to wilt a bit.  Add about 1/2 cup of the stock so the veggies don’t stick to the pot.  Sprinkle the salt on the veggies.

100_2858

3.  Add the rest of the chicken stock and the chopped cooked chicken.  Add the black pepper, smoked paprika, and the chipotle spice.   Allow to simmer on low for 20- 30 minutes, until the carrots and cabbage are tender.

4.  Slice the lime in half and squeeze one half into the soup.  Slice the other half into wedges.  Serve the soup with a generous sprinkling of chopped cilantro and a lime wedge.

100_2863

One thought on “Chicken soup with cilantro, chipotle, and lime

Leave a Reply

